Massive thanks to social media!

At the beginning of this year, I felt like my life was falling apart; I felt very lonely, useless, extremely sad and my head was full of negativity – I couldn’t find positivity in anything! After keeping it in, faking a smile and holding my tears back for quite a while, so as not to make my family worried, I finally had to spit it out – I just couldn’t hold it back anymore. I told my mum one night, while in tears 😥 – she could tell that something was wrong as I was very anxious and very jumpy (not like myself!) – and she kept on telling me how there are worse things in life than cp and how people with disabilities can be whoever they want to be if they set their mind to it. She then told me to focus on the things that I am good at and push the things I couldn’t do aside.

After a couple of days I was still the same – my mum didn’t know what to do with me anymore. So, she called one of therapists, who said that I could contact her whenever I had any problems. My mum booked an appointment for us to have a little chat with my therapist and to see if she could do anything to help me. And she definitely did! She told me to look online and join CP Teens UK chat, where I will find many people with cerebral palsy sharing experiences and making friends. So that’s what I did – and i have to say, I recommend it to anyone with cp, because it’s just an amazing and friendly community where you don’t feel alone anymore.

Personally, I’m incredibly happy to be a part of this amazing community as I have had the opportunity to share my experiences with people with the same condition. I would also like to thank the members of the group who made me feel welcome and supported! If it wasn’t for social networking sites, e.g. FB, I would not be as confident as I am now and as happy as I am now. Therefore, I would like to say a massive thank you to my mum for her endless support and also to social networking sites and the members of CP Teens UK chat – you have definitely changed my perspective of living with a disability.

Thank you for changing my view of life!

2 thoughts on “Massive thanks to social media!

Leave a Reply

